- CNAs Urged to Regulary Test for Coronavirus
- Confidential Agreements
- Medical Marijuana Guidance
- New Disclosure Required
- Revised Opioid Guidelines Adopted
- New Articulated Plan Toolkit & Templates
CNAs Urged to Regularly Test for Coronavirus
Certified Nurse Aides, Nursing Home Administrators and other workers in Colorado residential care facilities are encouraged to participate in regular COVID-19 testing. Regular testing is important to limit the spread of the virus in facilities. Benefits include keeping residents and other staff safe, while also reducing the chance of infection in homes and communities. Those who do test positive should be remain in isolation until:
- At least 10 days have passed since symptoms began or there are no symptoms;
- 10 days have passed since a positive test;
- Fever is gone for one full day without using medication to bring down the fever;
- Other symptoms, such as cough or shortness of breath, have improved.
Healthcare workers may need to isolate for longer periods, and should consult their employer or a healthcare provider. Please see https://covid19.colorado.gov/how-to-isolate for details. The Department of Labor and Employment also has produced a resource on employment protections for those who contract the virus that includes information on workers' rights to paid leave based on a positive test for COVID-19.
Further, a Residential Care Strike Team has been formed to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 in all high-density environments serving older adults and people with disabilities.
Guidance to Physicians/Dentists/Advance Practice Nurses who make medical marijuana recommendations, in light of Executive Action taken pursuant to COVID-19:
On March 20, 2020, Governor Polis issued Executive Order D 2020 011. Directive II.B temporarily suspends C.R.S. § 25-1.5-106(2)(a.5)(I), which requires an appropriate personal physical examination for the issuance of medical marijuana cards, through April 18, 2020.
In accordance with the Executive Order, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment’s (“CDPHE”) has issued a statement regarding possible alternatives to establish a bona-fide physician patient relationship through the use of telehealth technologies. To view this statement, click here, scroll to “Medical marijuana exams”, and click ‘What does it Apply to.”
As a result of, and during the effective dates of, Executive Order D 2020 011, telehealth technologies are not prohibited for use to establish a bona-fide physician-patient relationship, to prevent exposure of COVID-19 among medical professionals and medical marijuana patients.
New Disclosure Required
On May 14, 2019, Governor Jared Polis signed House Bill 19-1174 Out of Network Healthcare Services. The bill includes provisions for how health insurance carriers will reimburse providers (doctors, hospitals and other health care providers) for out-of-network emergency and non-emergency care. The new law went into effect on January 1, 2020, and also requires healthcare providers to develop and provide consumer disclosures about the potential effects of receiving emergency or non-emergency services from an out-of-network provider, and the possibility of “surprise billing.” As part of the implementation of House Bill 19-1174 Out-of-network Surprise Billing, the Division of Professions and Occupations is providing a sample disclosure form. Please feel free to use your own form if you prefer.
Revised Opioid Guidelines Adopted
On March 14, 2019, the revised Guidelines for Prescribing and Dispensing Opioidswere adopted by all six of Colorado's prescribing and dispensing Boards: the Colorado Dental Board, the Colorado Medical Board, theState Board of Nursing, the State Board of Optometry, the Colorado Podiatry Board, and the State Board of Pharmacy, and endorsed by the State Board of Veterinary Medicine.