State Board of Social Work Examiners: News


 

HB22-1299 License Registration Fee Relief for Mental Health Professionals

 

 

LSW Requirements Changing Effective July 1, 2022

The Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners is notifying candidates and
other stakeholders about an upcoming change regarding the Social Work Exam requirements.

Beginning on July 1, 2022 the Board will require that Licensed Social Work (LSW) applicants
complete the Master’s exam to obtain their LSW license. The Clinical exam will no longer be
accepted for the LSW exam requirement. This implementation ensures the Board is in
compliance with the Association of Social Work Board’s (ASWB) Exam Use Policy. Applicants
will then be required to complete the Clinical exam to obtain their Clinical Social Work (CSW)
license. 

The adoption of ASWB’s Exam Use Policy was originally slated to take place this year, on July
1, 2021. The ASWB Board of Directors approved Colorado's request for an extension to delay
implementation of the Policy until June 30, 2022.

 
On July 1, 2022, the Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners is requiring the following
for application approval:

  • Master of Social Work
  • Passing of the Masters exam
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker
  • Master of Social Work or Doctor of Social Work
  • Passing of the Clinical exam
  • 3,360 hours of supervised experience post-degree, with 96 hours of direct supervisor
  • contact, acquired within 2 years

 

 

 

Mental/Behavioral Health Parity Information

 

New Rules in Effect May 15, 2021

Revised rules for the State Board of Social Work Examiners went into effect on May 15, 2021. The revisions to Rule 1.6 implemented Colorado House Bill 19-1129; and revisions to Rules 1.12, 1.23, and Appendix A corrected language that conflicted with portions of the statutes in Colorado House Bill 20-1326 and Colorado Senate Bill 20-102 (sections 12-20-202(3) and 12-30-115, C.R.S.).

To view the details of this rulemaking project and track all rule changes, see Tracking Number 2021-00119. The Board encourages all licensees and stakeholders to read the published revised Rules 1.6, 1.12, 1.23 and Appendix A. Please direct any questions to dora_mentalhealthboard@state.co.us.  

 


 

HB20-1206, Concerning the Continuation of Regulation of Mental Health Professionals

The Division of Professions and Occupations (DPO), within the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), has been provided the authority by the Colorado State Legislature to create the Mental Health Disciplinary Record Work Group. The Work Group will examine the state’s rules and policies with regard to the retention and use of certain kinds of disciplinary records as it relates to licensing of mental health professionals in the state. The Work Group, created by House Bill 20-1206, will meet throughout the Fall and Winter of 2020, and will make recommendations to the Governor, the Executive Director of DORA and the health committees in the House and Senate about any potential changes the Work Group identifies. 

 

 

Division Convenes Work Group to Study Disciplinary Records Retention in the Mental Health Professions

Pursuant to House Bill 20-1206 (HB-1206) “Sunset Mental Health Professionals”, the Division of Professions and Occupations (Division) has convened the Mental Health Records Retention Workgroup, to study, take public comment on, and make recommendations with respect to how the Division handles and uses certain disciplinary records in its licensing decisions, and how & when those records are made public. 

The Work Group will meet several times throughout the fall and winter of 2020, with the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) facilitating, and will make its final recommendations to the General Assembly, Governor, and the Division by January 1, 2021. 

The following individuals have been appointed to be Voting Members of the Work Group:

  • Ronne Hines, Director, Division of Professions and Occupations
  • Senator Brittany Pettersen (D-22) 
  • Sen. Cheri Jahn (Ret.)
  • Felicidad Fraser-Solak
  • Brian Gonzales
  • Angela Green
  • Terri Hurst
  • Mita Johnson
  • Tim Ranney
  • Ana Vizoso

The Work Group is currently scheduled to meet on the following dates, with additional meeting dates added as necessary:

  • September 17, 2020, from Noon to  2:30 p.m., Agenda, Presentation
  • October 19, 2020, from 2-5 p.m., AgendaPresentation
  • The work group will meet as subcommittees, November 5, 2020, from Noon to 3:00 p.m., Agenda
  • November 19, 2020, from 1-4 p.m., Agenda
  • December 10, 2020 from 1:30 - 3:30 p.m.. Agenda

As part of the Division's outreach efforts to the public, the Division hosted a townhall meeting on Wednesday, October 14, 2020, 11:00 a.m - noon, to gather comments from interested members of the public.  The recording of the townhall may be accessed here.

The Division will host an additional townhall meeting on Thursday, November 12, from 9:00 - 10:00 a.m., to gather comments from interested members of the public. Please click here to register for the townhall - registration is required to attend.

 

New Disclosure Required

On May 14, 2019, Governor Jared Polis signed House Bill 19-1174 Out of Network Healthcare Services. The bill includes provisions for how health insurance carriers will reimburse providers (doctors, hospitals and other health care providers) for out-of-network emergency and non-emergency care. The new law went into effect on January 1, 2020, and also requires healthcare providers to develop and provide consumer disclosures about the potential effects of receiving emergency or non-emergency services from an out-of-network provider, and the possibility of “surprise  billing.” As part of the implementation of House Bill 19-1174 Out-of-network Surprise Billing, the Division of Professions and Occupations is providing a sample disclosure form. Please feel free to use your own form if you prefer.